Working abroad

i’m currently refining my plan to break into the game industry and thinking about some job applications even though I’m unlikely to succeed unless I aim low (seeing as how I have no previous experience).

Anyway, what I would like to know is how exactly does one get a job permit to work (and live) in another country?In particular the USA.

Assuming the company is interested in hiring me what does the USA require from me in order to let me in?

If anyone who is not from the US knows about how the system in his/her country works please share. The US is but one possibility. I already discarded Japan since it will probably be impossible for a beginner.

Hmm…

Don’t know where your from, but from my knowledge you need a “Green Card” thingy to work in America. Obtaining one however is no easy task, apparently (I dont even live in America so check out the cheek of me.).

Most countries however have a “skills list” however, which is a list of occupations and trades that country is experiencing a shortage of. So if Australia needs carpenters and happen to be a fully fledged carpenter, it counts for a lot. Thus you might want to look for programming jobs just to get in a particualr country with some form of income to be on a stable platform from which you can achieve your more game orienated goals.

Hope this helps.

I can’t say as I know anything definite Gehn, I was born in the US so it’s obviously not something I’ve needed to know and I have had no close relationship with anyone who’s had to go through the process.