USB Saturn pads at PlaySega

Has anyone ordered any?

I’ve just ordered two, somewhat reluctantly! The pads can only be bought if you subscribe to Sega’s VIP service. I did a 3 month subscription which I then cancelled from recurring, as I only really wanted the pads.

Before ordering I sent a ticket to Sega asking whether they would consider selling the pads separately (I suggested through the E-shop), but Sega said no as the pads are tied to the VIP promotion. I think Sega are aware of the high demand for these pads (especially after the release of Street Fighter IV) and are exploiting it’s popularity by including it for “free” in its VIP subcription service. If I was in Sega’s shoes I’d do the same thing, but I think giving customers choice is important too rather than taking advantage of them. There is no choice in “subscribe to X if you want Y”.

What do you guys think? Is Sega being unfair to customers or am I just being a bit cynical?

I just ordered one for myself, after much thought.

Even though I’m not a huge PC gamer, the Saturn controller is my favorite and in all honesty is worth the money on its own, PlaySega account aside. Maybe now I’ll actually bother with some games. Besides, some of the games they have online I haven’t played before and this is easier than eBay.

Also the difference in subscription is a measly $2. And without this promo, I imagine most folks would just ignore PlaySega entirely. So Sega’s making a safe and sensible marketing decision to not sell the pad on its own.