Panzer Dragoon Anime

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here at the Will of the Ancients. I’m not sure if anyone remembers me, but for a time I used to frequent Die Welt von Panzer Dragoon and was in the process of attempting to create content for PanzerDragoon.Org back in the day…

However, I wore myself too thin between creating that site and managing another one and eventually they both were closed down. However during that time I was fairly successful at collecting a ton of Panzer Dragoon merchandise directly off of Japanese auctions. I’m still hoping that I might one day find some time to spare in creating another Panzer Dragoon site, but for now I just wanted to pop a question out to see if anyone would be interested in a possible project that I might consider taking on or if it would be a complete waste of time.

One of the collectibles that I found was an original master VHS tape of the Panzer Dragoon OVA animation in the original Japanese dialogue. Having had it sit on my shelf for several years, I never got around to watching it until sometime last week. At first glance I was rather impressed, but unfortunately my level of Japanese was not high enough to really comprehend what was being said. So later that evening I searched to see if AD Vision had released a subtitled version of their domesticated release, but I did not see one available so I picked up an English VHS tape for next to nothing and I’ve just now finished watching it.

Overall, while the anime wasn’t really that great, the animation wasn’t terrible at least and it did follow most of the events of the first game with a bit of a twist here and there, but I thought what really killed my ability to enjoy it was the severity of terrible English dialogue for the characters.