Original trilogy order?

I was just playing through Saga again, and I realized something. The Compiler in the Seekers’ Stronghold gives Edge the Old Diary, telling him it was written by the previous Dragon Rider, who subsequently became a Seeker and Gash’s mentor. The diary seems to outline the events of Zwei, which is supposed to be chronologically first in the series. If the “last” dragon rider was the one who raised the dragon from a mutant coolia and destroyed Shelcoof, doesn’t that cast some doubt on the order of the series?

Sorry if this has been addressed before, I’m new to the site and had a bit of a search but I couldn’t find it.

From memory, I recall Zadoc referring to Lundi as “the last dragon rider”. I suspect that was a translation error. The correct translation may have been “a previous dragon rider”. Perhaps someone who knows Japanese can confirm this?

The timeline (which is based on the timeline in the guidebooks and Team Andromeda’s website) and also the dates in Panzer Dragoon Orta’s encyclopaedia confirm the folllowing order:

  • Panzer Dragoon Zwei - 71 A.F.
  • Panzer Dragoon - 89 A.F.
  • Panzer Dragoon Saga - 119 A.F.
  • Panzer Dragoon Orta - 156 A.F.

It contains records about the
last dragon rider.
He was Gash’s master and the
seeker who led this village.

I guess just something they overlooked?

Much of English translation isn’t translated literally (@Draikin can tell you more about that), so I’m not surprised that differences such as this have appeared in the dialogue. For example, compare Kimimi’s translation of the Old Diary to the official translation. It makes me wonder what other details were changed.