Jason Kuo Interview

"Yusaku: Would you like to introduce yourself and what position you hold?

Jason Kuo- I’m currently a localization producer at SEGA of America in Product Development. I like to consider myself a fairly hardcore gamer, although I’ll certainly admit to being less so in recent years, as evident in tossing out my 7 year collection of Famitsu among other things.

How long have you worked at Sega and how did you get the job?

• Officially, I’ve worked here for 15 years. Including temp. work, originally as a tester, I’ve actually worked at SEGA for 16-17 years. I originally got the job when one of my college friends, who was a tester at SEGA told me to apply. I did, got hired, and I’ve been working at SEGA since then.

What was your first project?

• My first project as a temp. tester was Ex-Mutants for the Genesis. I then became one of 4 core testers on Sonic 2. My first test lead project was Cyborg Justice. The first project I was able to do level design for was the SEGA CD version of The Amazing Spider-Man vs. the Kingpin. The first project I worked on that was released while in the capacity of game designer was The Ooze. After that, it’s all a bit fuzzy as to what my first projects were.

Did you think you were going to stay at Sega this long?

• I honestly never really thought about it. My goal at the time when working at SEGA as a tester was to get into game design, which I eventually did for a short period of time.

What is your favorite Sega console?

• Do I really have to pick one? I really enjoyed playing games on the Genesis, Saturn and Dreamcast, and I really couldn’t say I enjoyed one hardware over another. If you’re talking about work, the Dreamcast was generally easier to work with, but a lot of that had to do with an evolving and improved process as we moved from hardware to hardware.